The Revolt of Pontiac and the American Invasion

The Defence of Nova Scotia

Fort Beausejour Defended

Officer, 42nd (Royal Highland) Regiment of Foot, 1768-1784

Caption: Officer, 42nd (Royal Highland) Regiment of Foot, 1768-1784

The dreaded attack came in November, when approximately 500 Americans attacked Fort Cumberland, held by a garrison of 200 soldiers and Loyalist families who had taken refuge there. The garrison had done what it could to prepare the fort, which had been abandoned since the 1760s, and to restore it to a viable condition, even using old French bayonets to make stakes. They did not have the provisions needed, and rations were equally low. The soldiers, who had not been given uniforms, were in rags. Goreham allowed them "to wear the Barrack Rugs and Blankets[,] otherwise they must suffer greatly if not entirely perish." 43

The Americans, without any artillery, launched an assault the night of December 13, but they were turned back. On the 22nd and 23rd they attempted to burn down the fort and managed to destroy several buildings, including the hospital, but Goreham held his ground. On December 28 the warship HMS Vulture appeared, carrying soldiers of the Royal Highland Emigrants and marines, who, when they joined the soldiers of the garrison, were able finally to chase away the attackers.

Garrisons were later posted in Annapolis and other strategic points in Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island. A few skirmishes occurred, the most serious being the taking of Liverpool by American privateers in September 1778. Generally, though, the Maritime colonies were no longer being bothered by the Americans, most of the people having chosen the British camp.

Additional Images

Private, Royal Fencible Americans, Fort Cumberland, 1775-1776

La révolte de Pontiac et l'invasion américaine

La défense de la Nouvelle-Écosse

La défense du fort Cumberland

Officier, 42e (Royal Highland) Régiment de fantassins, 1768-1784

Légende: Officier, 42e (Royal Highland) Régiment de fantassins, 1768-1784

L'attaque tant redoutée survient en novembre, quand environ 500 Américains assiègent le fort Cumberland. Celui-ci est occupé par une garnison de 200 soldats et par des familles loyalistes qui s'y sont réfugiées. La garnison avait tenté tant bien que mal de préparer ce fort, abandonné depuis les années 1760, à l'état de défense, mettant même à profit de vieilles baïonnettes françaises retrouvées au rebut pour façonner des piquets. Elle manquait cependant de provisions et les rations en étaient réduites d'autant. De plus, les soldats, qui n'avaient pas reçu d'uniformes, étaient en loques. Goreham leur permet d'endosser, par-dessus leurs vêtements, « des tapis de la caserne et des couvertures car ils souffriraient grandement, sinon périraient 43 » du froid et des intempéries.

Les Américains, ne possédant pas d'artillerie, lancent un assaut durant la nuit du 13 décembre, mais sont repoussés. Les 22 et 23, ils tentent d'incendier le fort et parviennent à détruire plusieurs bâtiments, dont l'hôpital, mais Goreham tient bon. Le 28 décembre, le navire de guerre HMS Vulture apparaît et débarque des soldats du Royal Highland Emigrants et de l'infanterie de marine qui, joints à ceux de la garnison, chassent enfin les assiégeants.

Par la suite, des garnisons sont postées à Annapolis et en d'autres points stratégiques de la Nouvelle-Écosse et de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard. On assiste encore à quelques échauffourées, la plus sérieuse étant la prise de Liverpool par des corsaires américains, en septembre 1778. Cependant, dans l'ensemble, les colonies maritimes ne sont plus incommodées par les Américains, la majorité de la population ayant choisi le camp britannique.

Images additionnelles

Soldat, Royal Fencible Americans, Fort Cumberland, 1775-1776